The Iron Sky: Operation Highjump -team is looking for your ideas and comments.

Join and show your support for Iron Sky: Operation Highjump.

Spammers about

Posted December 07, 2009 by Matti Delahay 2 Thumb-ups 

There's already been a couple of shots about this at the Wreckamovie Platform -production, but looks like we've had a mass spammer around during the weekend, sending the following private message to (probably) everyone on Wreckamovie:

"hello dear

Hell Dear

I am Vivian Dabah, 22yrs old girl from Sudan . I read your profile, and find it truly interesting. That is why I am contacting you so that we can get to know each other better for personal relationship, beside I have a special issue to discuss with you on a very serious note. I can be reached through this Email:([address removed]). Hope to hear from you soon. I will send my pictures to you and also tell you more about my self when you reply me. All I need is your understanding and interest for more information about me. Take care as I wait for your response through my private email address above.

Yours, Vivian"

It's a fairly obvious fraud to anyone familiar with the other similar types (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advance-fee_fraud), but as Andrej suggested, it's better safe than sorry: don't reply it and don't give any money or personal details to the spammer(s), that's what they're after. Just delete the message, the great folks at Wreckamovie are already working to make it more difficult for spammers and spambots in the future.

On a different note, our production reached 60 members during the weekend, a big welcome to the new members!

Hope you all had a great weekend,
Matti Delahay

Comments

Spencer Lunsford April 11, 2010 00:27 Flag

Damn Spammers... really gets annoying after a while.

Ronen Khazin February 01, 2010 16:17 Flag

Right, seems that they're back, with a different name however. Here's what I got:

Hello,
My name is enderlin i saw your profile here today at www.wreckamovie.com became intrested in you,i will also like to know you the more and estabilish a relationship that is bassed on truth and trust with you i want you to send an email to my email address so i can give you my picture for you to know whom i am.Here is my email address enderlinmuoka@yahoo.com
I am waiting for your mail to my email address above please i have something very very important i will like to tell you.I believe we can start from here!
Remeber the distance or colour does not matter but love matters alot in life.

Spencer Lunsford December 14, 2009 07:13 Flag

Yes. She actually contacted me and I responded to her email. I sorta played along with it. After 4 returned messages from "Vivian" I thought that I should stop the fun and report the IP Address and email to my local FBI Offices here in the United States. I assure you that they are looking into this and the scam-er will be caught in do time.

Benjamin Arntzen December 08, 2009 22:46 Flag

I got this too - I figured spammers would find this place eventually, it just sucks that they did.

Keep up the great work regardless - and congratulations on 60 members.

Charles Anderson December 08, 2009 21:04 Flag

LOL I got this one too, Vivian Dabah must be a slut :-)

Ronen Khazin December 08, 2009 01:08 Flag

Thank you for posting this. I was concerned but I deleted it the moment I got it. I managed to get to the profile before it was deleted. The message says that she is from Sudan, but on the profile page, the location was New York.

Peter Vesterbacka December 07, 2009 17:38 Flag

Matti, thanks for posting this, all help in fighting the spammers is most welcome! And congrats on hitting 60 members already, great job!

You must login or register to comment